Fondation Marisa Sophie

Home

Marisa was an 11 month old girl, very lively and joyful. One morning she suddenly presented with a very high fever. A few days later she died of an undiagnosed streptococcal meningitis. After the shock of this tragedy, Marisa’s parents realized that unfortunately Marisa was not a unique case: The rapid intervention and the efficacy of therapeutic treatment make the difference between life and death in small children.

Even though children are our greatest capital, paradoxically, pediatric research is not well developed compared to other large therapeutic markets. This is why protecting the life of children is an undeniable social responsibility which should not only be considered in terms of return on investment. Diagnostic methods, therapies, and standard of care guidelines have to be created, improved or better controlled in children.

Since its creation in 2010, several projects have been initiated in clinical research, for example in protective ventilation, plasmatic transfusion, dose optimization, and clinical nutrition of critically ill children. This research has already been awarded important prizes, such as the “Nestlé nutrition prize 2014” and publications in prestigious journals such as the Blue Journal.

Concerning Patient Safety our awareness activities have led to several improvements in the health care system, which have been implemented by the Cantonal health department. These improvement measures include an increase in beds in the intensive care department of the CHUV with a “zero” refusal politics (in 2009 there were close to 80 child refusals due to shortage of beds), an allocation of experienced pediatricians in emergency care and an educational program to form more nurses in pediatric emergency care.


Clip from “Faire Face Ensemble” – Paediatric Intensive Care at CHUV, Lausanne

Marisa’s story

Fondation Marisa Sophie

Accueil

Marisa était une petite fille de 11 mois en pleine santé, gaie et souriante. Un matin, elle a présenté soudainement une forte fièvre. Elle décédera quelques jours plus tard des suites d’une méningite à pneumocoques. Après le choc du décès, les parents de Marisa se sont rendu compte que malheureusement, Marisa n’était pas un cas unique : Chez le jeune enfant, la rapidité et l’efficacité du traitement font la différence entre la survie ou le décès.

Bien que les enfants soient notre plus précieux capital, paradoxalement la pédiatrie est le parent pauvre de la médicine. C’est pourquoi, protéger la vie des enfants est une responsabilité sociale indéniable, qui ne devrait pas être uniquement considérée en termes de rentabilité. Les tests diagnostiques, les moyens thérapeutiques, les directives de prise en charge doivent être créés, améliorés, et mieux contrôlés chez l’enfant.

Depuis sa création en 2010, plusieurs projets ont vu le jour notamment en recherche appliquée, par exemple en ventilation assistée, transfusion plasmatique, dosage de médicaments et nutrition de l’enfant gravement malade. Ces recherches se sont déjà vu décerner des prix, par exemple le Prix Nestlé Suisse de la nutrition 2014, et des publications dans des journaux prestigieux tel que le Blue Journal.

En ce qui concerne la sécurité du patient, nos activités de sensibilisation ont conduit à plusieurs améliorations implémentées par le Service de Santé Publique et le Département de la Santé et Action Sociale, notamment l’augmentation de lits aux Soins Intensifs Pédiatriques (SIP) du CHUV avec une politique de « 0 » refus (en 2009, il y a eu près de 80 refus), l’allocation de plus de médecins pédiatres cadre au service des urgences et un programme de formation d’infirmières d’urgence pédiatrique pour accueillir les cas graves.


Extrait de « Faire Face Ensemble » – Soins intensifs de pédiatrie au CHUV, Lausanne

Extrait de l’émission 36,9° du 5 juin 2013 – L’histoire de Marisa