Fondation Marisa Sophie

Clinical Research

Since the tragedies in the early days of the pharmaceutical industry, such as the deaths linked to the administration of sulfonamides in the 30’s or the malformation due to thalidomide in the 60’s, the laws and regulations have been modified concerning clinical testing in order to ensure the safety and efficacy of pharmaceutical products in man. However, these clinical trials have been beneficial mostly for adults. In children the safety and efficacy of about 50% of the medical products routinely utilized have not been tested.

A clinical trial conducted in the Intensive care unit of the CHUV illustrates this fact: Two small children hospitalized with a severe enterococcal infection did not respond to imipramine treatment despite the fact that the strain was sensitive to this antibiotic. The recommended dose, extrapolated from the adult dose, was not sufficient. Following this observation the clinical trial, which was conducted, showed that in order to obtain efficacious concentration in children the dose had to be doubled compared to the recommended dose.

As opposed to fundamental research, applied clinical research has the objective of being applicable in the short term. Principally it consists of dose optimization of pharmaceutical products, development of diagnostic methods and therapeutic protocols, and adaptation of equipment. The results are published in international journals so that all the medical community can take advantage.

NAVA (Neurally adjusted ventilation assist)

Nutrition

Plasma TV (transfusion value)

POCHEM (Point-of-Care HEMostasis)

Fondation Marisa Sophie

Recherche Clinique

Suite à des drames comme les décès liés aux sulfanilamides dans les années 30 et les malformations congénitales dues à la thalidomide dans les années 60, des changements ont été introduits dans la loi et les réglementations concernant les essais cliniques des nouveaux médicaments, ceci afin d’assurer leur efficacité et surtout innocuité chez l’homme. Ces essais ont essentiellement bénéficié aux adultes. Chez l’enfant, l’efficacité et la sécurité de 50% des médicaments couramment utilisés aux soins intensifs n’ont pas été éprouvées.

Une étude effectué dans l’Unité des soins intensifs au CHUV illustre bien ce fait: Deux petits enfants hospitalisés avec une infection sévère à entérocoques n’ont pas répondu au traitement d’imipenème qu’ils recevaient malgré que ce germe soit sensible à cet antibiotique. Aux doses recommandées, dérivées des prescriptions adultes, la concentration d’imipenème était insuffisante. Suite à ces observations, l’étude a montré que pour obtenir des concentrations efficaces, le dosage de l’imipenème devait être le double de celui recommandé.

Contrairement à la recherche fondamentale, la recherche clinique vise à développer des thérapies directement applicables afin que les enfants en profitent à court terme. Il s’agit principalement d’optimisation de dosages de médicaments, de méthodes diagnostiques, de protocoles thérapeutiques et d’adaptations d’appareillages. Les résultats sont publiés au niveau international pour que toute la communauté médicale puisse en profiter.

Etude NAVA (Neurally adjusted ventilation assist)

Etude Nutrition

Etude Plasma TV (transfusion value)

Etude POCHEM (Point-of-Care HEMostasis)